Unpublished story! NAR or NAW?

Editor needs help again!

We were recently given kind permission to use a story relayed in a comment as a story on the site. I am going through the editorial process but I can’t decide if the ending of the story infuriates me so much that it pushes this into the NAW category? What do you think?

====

Story:

Gas Station, USA

A woman comes in on a holiday weekend (our station is on a main road we are INSANELY busy).

Customer: “I left my receipt when I got gas. I need it! I’m a cab driver!”

Me: “What time did you come in, and what pump did you use?”

Customer: “It was hours ago! I can’t remember!”

Me: “Okay, how much did you spend?”

Customer: “I can’t remember! Find my receipt!”

After several minutes of a building line and being called every name under the sun I finally say:

Me: “Ma’am, would you like for me to print you a random receipt from the approximate time you were in? Because outside of that there is literally nothing I can do without some kind of information.”

She cursed me out again, left, and the next day I have a write up waiting because the customer lied and said I screamed at her and called her a “stupid f****** b****.”

Of course, I didn’t say that and explained this to the manager.

Manager: “Even if you didn’t actually say it, your face did.”

So, I’m in trouble for something I DIDN’T say?! I hated that store so much.

3 Likes

I’ve probably been here too long, but the customer’s unreasonableness seems almost mundane. The twist definitely puts it into NAW, in my opinion.

2 Likes

It’s definitely both… and I have an idea for a title that might help:

“I Was Going to Put This Under Not Always Right, But then I Thought NAW…”

or

“I Was Going to Put This Under Not Always Right, But then the Manager Happened and I Thought NAW…”

6 Likes

For me, definitely both – both the Cusstomer and OP’s boss are supreme jerks.