Opening Panic

No more than four hours of sleep last night despite going to bed at 20:00. Arrive at work at open (06:00), get changed slowly and start with slowly cleaning the thingy that needs cleaned during open. Vaguely wondering who I’m supposed to be opening with, and when they’re going to arrive. Very slow because tired.

Done with the first half and ready to mop, check time and it’s 06:35, so they’re very late. Look at rota to check who was supposed to be on with me. I’m on my own. As in, I was purposefully scheduled to do this on my own.

Cue panic since I’ve got just over an hour to sort the defrost, which I’ve never done before but vaguely heard about. Panicking because I can’t find things in the freezer, panicking because I don’t know how to count the food, just panicking in general because I’m on my own and haven’t seen another person since I walked into the staff only area.

Later, I’m nowhere near done with the defrost but notice the fryers aren’t set up yet. Then notice nothing is on except the fridges. Fryers have an on button, so I press it, and they light up and the display reads “OFF” so now I’m really panicking. Go to see (again) if there’s anyone in the corridor, notice the time is now 07:50 or so and panic more because I have ten minutes left before food starts being ordered.

Finally find manager who helps turn things on, and a coworker comes in at 08:00 and says she’ll finish sorting the defrost, but the grills never turned on and I think she never did finish the defrost since just before my shift was over we were asked to get curries and I couldn’t find them earlier but she did when she checked. Either way, felt like I was going to hyperventilate and then throw up and then collapse, and felt like that until my break. After my break I was just tired and had a stomache ache and then splashed hot oil onto my thumb, which still stings.

So that was fun.

4 Likes