I'm a writer AMA

Since my user name is PublishedAuthor I thought I’d do an ask me anything. So feel free to ask me about what I do. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

How in the heck do you get an agent, or even anyone to look at your first manuscript?

3 Likes

Well to be honest I don’t have an agent and the publisher of my first two books is a small little publishing company. I think I just sent them around and see who bit. I wasn’t too fussed about making money on them. Now the book I’m working on now is different. I do have a publisher that is bigger for that one and I do get an advance on it. It’s not much but it’s something.

5 Likes

Oh wow, that’s neat! I’ve thought a lot about putting it on like, Kindle, but I’ve had a hard time finding all the info on what rights Amazon gets, and I’ve heard bad things.

2 Likes

Also, what’s the book about?!

1 Like

If you’re talking about the one I’m writing it’s a young adult/new adult fantasy about a girl who finds out on her 18th birthday that she’s inherited a lot of money and that she has a history she didn’t know about.

3 Likes

Not sure if it is relevant to your genre but Ive always been curious if authors get concerned about their research. Or if there are any mitigation steps you take.

Like if you were writing a crime novel and were researching things like “life insurance pay outs” “how does lye work” “publicly accessible wilderness areas” etc etc Id be worried about ending up on some watch list. And thats not touching on thriller/spy novels that would involve research into event security and airplanes and the like.

3 Likes

That’s interesting. Since my book has to do with fantasy I’m not sure. Though with my copywriting that might come up at some point so it’s something to consider.

2 Likes