Horror stories from my starting year

I’ve submitted this story a number of times, but it’s never been approved, so i’m submitting it to the forums.

In many ways it’s deeply personal, so i’d prefer the anonymity of posting to the main site.

I’m a tax preparer. I’ve been doing this for about fifteen years. My first year was… pretty dicy.

I got bullied by my coworkers, but in many ways I was too autistic to understand, and I didn’t figure it out until later. It was a small franchise owned office. There were six offices owned by the franchise owner, and this office was the smallest of the six. There were all of four desks, including the secretary desk, and one server in the back.

There were six tax pros who regularly worked the office, but most of us were not fulltime. I was fulltime. For some reason the franchise owner thought it was cute to schedule me for 12 hour days, so instead of 5x8 I worked 3x12 and 1x4.

I would often have 12 clients, one every hour, one day and then none the next day due to the franchise owner’s weird scheduling fetish for putting all the appointments in one day on one person. It was hard.

In a bit I’ll be back to actually tell the stories, this is just background.

6 Likes

From one potato to another, I salute you and am looking forward to some of the stories.

3 Likes

Alright. Here’s the first story: No desks.

One day when I’m scheduled to come in, I see that all four desks are occupied, all four computers are in use.

This isn’t a huge deal because I brought a book, so I go sit in the corner and read. It’s not like there’s anything I can do without clients, and no clients are in.

A client comes in. We check the schedule, and I’m told that the client is scheduled with me. Noone else has any clients.