Disabled high student not allowed to NOT read certain books?

I was a disabled student but I was partly put in Gr. 9 & 10 defunct applied classes in my province mostly for English and Math. College level class in Gr.11 and 12. I don’t remember what I read for English class in Gr.11 but I do remember reading a book called Crabbe in Gr.9 and Gr.10 there was a book which borrowed from Albert Estien’s theory of relavirty. I don’t recall what I read for English class in Gr.11 but I’m pretty sure that in Gr.12 I read the book “Of Mice and Men”.

All these years later (13)… I still wish I hadn’t been made to read it. I could read through it but I could only watch half of the movie of the same name. My Mom did try hard not to have me read the book but they refused it. I mean my Mom tried to get me to moved to a higher English class but the head of the department didn’t think I would be able to do the work. Which is ironic since I was in a university level Ancient History class in Gr.11 and 12 with my own father as the teacher (and yes he didn’t make it easier for me either… except for when we were at home) I would have much rather have read Frankenstein, or something but not of Mice and Men

It also doesn’t help that I know for a fact that now days some marginalized community members (the new form of saying BIPOC since BIPOC is bad now) are allowed to NOT read stuff like To Kill a Mockingbird and other books which have a depiction of the Marginalized community

Is it fair that marginalized community students can have the option of “opting out” of books like “To Kill a Mockingbird” but 13 years ago, me as a disabled high school student couldn’t have the option of “opting out” of a book like “Of Mice and Men”?

We didn’t have the option of opting out of anything at my school, disabilities or no. Including Of Mice and Men, the most boring book that I have ever had the misfortune to read.