Complaining about periods

Okay so I’ve never made a thread before but I just needed to vent about this specifically and figured if anybody else has similar experiences they could talk about it here.
I have the WORST periods. Like, I just spent half and hour-ish throwing up in the bathroom and this is not a one-time occurrence, this has been happening since high school and it sucks. Plus, awful cramps and a lot of time spent in the bathroom in general.
Anybody else have really rough periods? I just need a bit of sympathy right now, I’m exhausted and it’s only 4pm where I am, and I have STUFF I NEED TO DO, ugh.

4 Likes

I have zero qualifications or experience in such matters, so i have no frame of reference to the level of awfulness, but it sounds serious. Have you seen a doctor about this?

4 Likes

Seconding Stephen. Too many people never see a doctor because they think the pain they experience during their period is normal. If it’s to the level that it interrupts your everyday life, it is not normal and you should seek medical input.

4 Likes

I talked to my old doctor about it when I was in high school and she said it was normal. My mom was not so sure, but we were only sort of looking for a new doctor when the pandemic happened and we couldn’t go. We’ve got a new doctor now and I’ll bring it up at my first appointment, but that’s going to be a while…

5 Likes

Yeah, I figured as much, but my old doctor said it was normal and I haven’t had a chance to see another one yet. We’ll see. Ugh.

5 Likes

Throwing up is definitely a red flag. I’ve been lucky but my sisters both had heavy periods. One was prescribed painkillers and the other put on a long term birth control thing before she hit 13.

I’d definitely talk to your doctor about it as soon as you are safely able to.

5 Likes

Yeah. Fortunately the vomiting doesn’t happen every period and I’m good at predicting in time to get to a bathroom, but it is probably not good.

4 Likes